Blogathon: Life, Love and the Movies

Life, Love and the Movies (1)As I was devouring the web a few nights ago (make that a few months ago), I simply couldn’t resist this genius idea for a blogathon. Then real life happened which I’m sure many of you know what I’m talking about. In fact, my blog has been technically nonexistent since the beginning of the year simply because I couldn’t find enough time and inspiration to continue writing. I know it’s a feeble excuse, but instead of writing I’ve read a lot, including your blogs.

Nevertheless, it feels good to be back (just in time for the upcoming summer blockbusters) and I’m ready to get rolling. I couldn’t think of a better comeback than joining in with this creative blogathon which has been created by Nostra and KaramelKinema. If you got time, please do check out their blogs for quality reviews and other interesting film-related posts. This blogathon is all about life and the connection to movies as the title already suggests. Even though it’s very personal, I hope you enjoy reading and I’d love to hear your own experiences and personal film favorites in the comments section.

LIFE

1. What was the first movie you saw in the cinema and what do you remember about that visit? The first movie I saw in the cinema was, if I remember correctly, Finding Nemo (2003). I went to see it with my dad and it was pure awesomeness.

2. Are there any movies you have very strong memories of that aren’t caused by the movie itself? Not really although I do have very fond memories of The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012). It’s one of the few titles that I’ve neglected to look critically at, because I truly enjoyed watching it and I just feel like by criticizing, it would degrade my opinion of the film.

3. Which movies had a big impact on you and changed a part of your view on life?
That would be The Matrix (1999) and About Time (2013) for sure (in a very long list by the way). I think The Matrix has had a big impact on everyone since it’s basically philosophy condensed in film, so that’s my logical choice. Now you might wonder why I picked About Time. To be honest, it reminded me that we should cherish and appreciate every moment in life  and I think that message has partly influenced my own unconscious attitude and views on life as well. Also, I must confess that I’ve a soft spot for Rachel McAdams.

4. Do you have any comfort movies which you return to because you are in a specific mood? I usually find comfort in music by playing the piano, but if I would pick a movie it’d definitely be one of the many Harry Potter films. They have always been there with me when I feel angry, or happy, alone, with loved ones or in any state of mind really.

5. If a movie would be made about your life, what type of movie would it be and who would you like to portray you? I’d love to be portrayed as the melancholic, gloomy Mel Gibson-type of character in a, favorably dark, drama. Pretty much like the tagline of my blog except the struggle is for real this time.

6. Which existing movie best represents you? That’s a hard one, but I’ll go with Disney’s Up (2009). Why? I think one of the many reasons why we enjoy watching movies is because we are able to identify, partly, with one or multiple characters. This is an aspect filmmakers cleverly elaborate on. Now, Up is a really special case for me. It didn’t just represent a part of me, but through its juxtaposing, diverse main characters it was able to represent a wide range of my personality: the conservative old man versus the adventurous-hungry kid.

7. If you knew you would die tomorrow, what would be the last movie you would want to see? Uhmmm…Tomorrow Never Dies (1999) would be a good pick, wouldn’t it? No, seriously, let’s go out with a bang.

8. If you can spend your life working in the film industry, what would you be and why? Screenwriter, definitely. A few years ago I had to write my own screenplay for a school assignment and I loved every part of the process and the end result made me very happy as well.

LOVE

1. Did you ever have a first kiss with someone while at the cinema and if so which movie was playing? I didn’t because I always (okay, mostly) go to the movies alone.

2. What is your favorite movie relationship and why? The one with all the cast & crew of Harry Potter, because it’s a franchise I’ve grown up with.

3. When did your love for movies start and how has it grown?
When I was a kid, obviously. After watching a movie at home, everyone would naturally discuss whether they enjoyed it while I rather had the tendency to look for a deeper meaning (which wasn’t always successful), but hey, I tried and this process of me reviewing movies during small talk has grown into me writing about them partly because I also love writing.

4. If you have to choose one film to watch with your loved one, what would it be and why? It would probably be a cliché rom-com that’s ideal for a Friday night.

5. If you can choose one character from a movie to be your significant other who would it be and why? Hermione Granger, because she’s smart, beautiful, pretty, intelligent, funny. Sorry Ron.

6. What was the first movie that made you fall in love with film and cinema? I really don’t remember. For me, I think it has always been the gradual process of watching films which made me fall in love with films in general so to say.

7. How did your passion for movies turn you into a movie blogger? I’ve always loved writing, so writing about movies was the ideal pastime someone like me could ever have.

8. What is your favorite date from a movie? My favorite date from a movie is the one between Carl and Ellie in Up. It’s such a simple and short, yet beautifully morose love story.

15 thoughts on “Blogathon: Life, Love and the Movies

  1. I also fell in love with the Perks of Being a Wallflower right from the opening frame and music, the cast is great too especially Hermione Granger er I mean Emma Watson. 🙂 Btw, good to see that your back.

    • Thanks for the comment. If only I could’ve paused real life for a day, then this post would be up somewhere in February I guess.

      The Matrix had a very big impact on me in the sense that it made me question everything about life (for the sheer fun) — just what philosophy is all about only I didn’t expect any new truths. 😉

      • I also like the idea of the movie. I think Matrix is the rare kind of movie where the idea is great and the execution is also great…unlike Transcendence, great idea bad execution

  2. I love watching movies and I’ll look forward to more of your reviews! I hate spoilers though so I might not read it unless I’ve already seen it. 🙂 Hehe.

Tell me!

